HotSpy Online best news, a daily publication in Nigeria covering world news, sports, politics,entertainment and health.

..

Saturday, June 23, 2018

Germany Vs Sweden: World Cup, Today by 18:00 GMT


Germany are out to bounce back immediately from their opening FIFA World Cup defeat to Mexico when they face Sweden in the second game of Group F at the Fisht Olympic Stadium in Sochi on Saturday (kick-off: 8pm CEST/7pm BST/2pm ET).

Match stats

This is Germany's 19th World Cup and they have reached at least the quarter-finals in each of the past nine editions, making it to at least the semi-finals at every competition since 2002.

Bayern Munich forward Thomas Müller has 10 World Cup goals to his name, the most of any active player.

Germany’s only World Cup loss to Sweden in four meetings came in 1958 when the Swedes hosted the tournament.

The sides last met in 2014 World Cup qualifying, with 16 goals being scored across the two matches.

Sweden are at their first World Cup since 2006 in Germany. Their best finish second place as hosts in 1958.

Only once before has a team lost its opening match and gone on to win the World Cup (Spain in 2010).

Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Archive

Translate

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *