HotSpy Online best news, a daily publication in Nigeria covering world news, sports, politics,entertainment and health.


Sunday, June 24, 2018

Events of APC Convention Day 2

The elective National Convention of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC) is into its second day at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

Voting of members of the National Working Committee, which began Saturday night, was still on by Sunday morning.

PREMIUM TIMES reporters are still at the venue to bring live updates and announcement of results of contested offices.

Already, former Edo State governor, Adams Oshiomhole, and incumbent National Secretary of the party, Mai Mala Buni, have been affirmed as elected after other aspirants for the two offices stepped down.

Other posts being keenly contested include those of the Deputy National Chairman (North), National Publicity Secretary, National Organising Secretary and National Woman leader.

Read the updates of all that transpired on Day 1 here.

Day 2 Update

As at 8:24 a.m., voting has been completed in all the ten voting centres. officials are now sorting the ballot papers and in some instances counting them.

Meanwhile, the Master of Ceremony earlier announced that President Muhammadu Buhari is expected to return to the venue of the convention ahead of the announcement of results and possible swearing in of winners.

There is scanty attendance at Eagle Square at present as most delegates have left after casting their votes. The security arrangements outside the venue has also been relaxed.

Ad-hoc staff have already begun clearing the venue of debris.

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, who is the chairman security sub-committee has directed that everyone be seated and that there should be no movement within the Square as votes are being counted and sorted.

A group just approached the tents where votes are being sorted and Mr Bello ordered them to “go back.” When they appeared to ignore him, he shouted “ Police do your work” as some of the police officers rushed to the scene, Some others seating behind our reporter retorted to the governor “you should also do your work”. One of them seating close to our reporter said “ I did not even bath for two days and you are here saying do your work, which work again?”

Those returned unopposed so far include:

Adams Oshiomhole- National Chairman

Mai Mala Buni- National Secretary

Ibrahim Masari- National Welfare Secretary

Tunde Bello- National Financial Secretary

Babatunde Ogala- National Legal Adviser

Bankole Oluwajana.- National Vice Chairman (South West).

Zakari Mohammed- Zonal Secretary (North Central)

Abubakar Sadiq- Zonal Secretary (North East)

Hassana Abdullahi- Zonal Woman Leader (North Central)

Nelson Abba- Ex-officio (North Central)

Isa Azare- Ex-officio (North-East)

Tukur Gusau- Zonal Secretary (North-West)

Nasiru Haladu- Ex-officio (North-West)

Rachael Akpabio- Zonal Woman Leader (South-South)

Misbahu L Didi- Representative of the physically challenged

Nasiru Haladu- Ex officio (North west)



Post a Comment



Contact Form


Email *

Message *